Works / Compilations Detail Page

Basic Details

Title Suite from "The Plow That Broke the Plains"
Commercial Availability Status Available
Ensemble Type Orchestral


Duration 15
Current Publisher G. Schirmer Inc.
Edition Or Catalog Number Hal Leonard 50488661

Cataloging Information

Copyright Date And Owner ©1942 Mercury Music Corp; ©1980 Virgil Thomson
Year Composed 1936
Year Revised
First Publisher Mercury Music
Year Published 1942
Manuscript Source(s) Location


Cardell Number Orch8A
Meckna Number W13

Additional Notes & Comments

Instrumentation Notes
Research Notes

CC Reports score for sale

CC reports "arr 1936" as date; Music Sales Classical reports 1942 as composition date.

No catalog number for Music Room; Rental Worldwide Available.


1. Prelude

2. Pastorale (Grass)

3. Cattle

4. Blues (Speculation)

5. Drought

6. Devastation

Audio Sample
Viewable Score