Works / Compilations Detail Page

Basic Details

Title Symphony No. 2 in C Major
Commercial Availability Status Out of Print
Ensemble Type Orchestral


Duration 15
Current Publisher Leeds Music Corp.
Edition Or Catalog Number

Cataloging Information

Copyright Date And Owner ©1951 Leeds Music Corporation; ©1982 Virgil Thomson
Year Composed 1931
Year Revised
First Publisher Leeds Music Corp.
Year Published 1941
Manuscript Source(s) Location


Cardell Number Orch12[A-D]
Meckna Number W12

Additional Notes & Comments

Instrumentation Notes
Research Notes

CC: Arr. 1931; rev. 1941

Leeds holds the copyright for the Symphony (which VT reacquired in 1982) appears that MCA Music holds the copyright for the piano version.

Meckna records a ballet entitled "Hurray!" by Erick Hawkins using this work as W7.

Movements: 1) Allegro con brio; 2) Andante; 3) Allegro

Audio Sample
Viewable Score